council, boards & committees ::

Traffic Safety Committee

The Traffic Safety Committee studies traffic conditions on streets and highways within the city. They analyze reports of accidents and recommend to the appropriate legislative bodies, departments, or commissions such changes in roles, orders, regulations, and existing law as the committee may deem advisable. The committee is authorized to promote and encourage street and highway traffic safety.

The committee consist of five members: three members to be appointed by the mayor, the chief of police, and one representitive of the planning board. The committee meets at 8:45 a.m. on the 4th Tuesday of every month. Meetings take place in the Police Training Room (downstairs in City Hall).

Current members:
John Stella     Tony Furco

Anthony "Zep" Thomaselli (Highway Superintendent)
Chief of Police
Planning Board Representative

Some Committees have definite terms of service, some serve "at pleasure of" the administration.  If you are interested in serving on a committee, please complete the Committee Application Form and submit it to: Office of the Mayor, 1 Municipal Center, Beacon, New York 12508-2530. Your application will be kept on file for future reference if there is no current opening. Thank you.

Upcoming Event

No events scheduled

Previous Event

  • Traffic Safety Committee Meeting
    Tuesday, May 15, 2012
    Police Training Room - City Hall, Downstairs
    8:45 am-9:30 am

    The Traffic Safety Committee meets on the fourth Tuesday of every month, from 8:45 to 9:30 a.m. The public is welcome to attend, though it's always advisable to contact the committee ahead of time with your concerns or comments, either in writing or by email.

    View all past events